AQUARIUM

14 Sep

Did I mention that Léa was gone with Ouma for the week?

She left last Sunday with Ouma and Oupa and Nico who were all here (more on that later). It’s been a very very long week! What was I thinking? To let her leave for 8 days and 7 nights!! The touch of calm and peacefulness of this house has left with her and it has been a household full of testorenones. What I hated the most is the fact that I got used to my house without her around. My husband reassures me and tells me that because I know that she’s having a great time with her Ouma, it makes it easier. If she was away for other reasons – less happy reasons, reasons that I will not even mention, not because I’m superstitious, because I’m not, but because the only thought of it makes me shudder – the atmosphere would be much different.

On a happier and different note, a good thing that came out of this week was the change in my relationship with Killian. I can’t really explain why, although I do have my guesses. He received more attention from me, even though I was sick and Matt didn’t even go to school.

I wonder if he felt that he didn’t have to be like Léa since she was not here to set the pace of the activities -playing so quietly, or drawing like her and to be honest to be more obedient, like her. I wonder if he felt that he was more accepted for who he was. Who knows what goes on in his little head! As much as I enjoyed having a little boy more calm and more obviously trying to please me, it challenged me for the time ahead to make him understand that he is loved just the way he is. I wish I could explain to him how proud am I of him and how much I enjoy his little personality, his sense of humour and his kind-heartedness – that is when he’s not screaming because he has to share his toys, eat his food, tidy his room, brush his teeth, put his clothes on or get off Matt’s head!

But let me come back the topic of this post!  I had promised Killian that we would go to the aquarium on thursday but being sickand feeling urgh, I had to postpone it. So today we went, Killian, Matt and myself. And we had such fun! I was a bit anxious at the idea of keeping an eye on these two monsters in a dark and crowded place but I took my courage in my two hands and it was so worth it! It ended our intimate week on a very good note.

THese big bubbles are always fascinating to Killian. It has a strange magnifier glass effect.

These big bubbles are always fascinating to Killian. It has a strange magnifier glass effect.

The fish are fun and interesting, but those fish-shaped merry-go-round are just as good!

The fish are fun and interesting, but those fish-shaped merry-go-rounds are just as good!

They were so good during the morning that I decided to spoil them and take them to the restaurant of the Aquarium. Well, I was starving too, so I can’t really say that it was just for them! There is a really nice play area for them with a big slide and going during the week makes the experience completely different. There is almost no one. Killian often tells me that he doesn’t like when there are too many people and he’d rather stay with me. But not that day!

I’m really looking forward to see Léa again, but I absolutely enjoyed these special moments with my ‘controlled’ son.

Yum! Nothing like calamari and chips. I'm so chaffed they actually like these calamari. We NEVER eat fish at home!

Yum! Nothing like calamari and chips. I'm so chaffed they like calamari because we NEVER eat fish at home!

 

...and chocolate milkshake of course! I love the milk moustache.

...and chocolate milkshake of course! I love the milk moustache.

What did you think?

