WITH A SLEDGE HAMMER

15 Oct

We did it!! At long last we did it!!! And it was good, and easy and quick. I’m talking about some sledge hammer work 😉

We -by ‘we’ I mean Phillip – broke down a little annoying semi-wall that separated the passage leading to the kitchen from the lounge. I love my house, but I think it’s been built in an era where architecture and design were on a different wave!!

It makes such a difference to the flow of the house. It is now a quick way into the kitchen and back to the lounge. No time to be wasted! To be quite honest, I never walked around, I always jumped over. The only problem was that my kids also jumped over, with less agility, and less care for whatever is in the way!

The most exciting part – after we went and bought a SLEDGE hammer (you can imagine Killian’s excitement at the thought of using this huge thing!) – was the breaking of the wall. Not only did the kids think that it was the greatest thing ever, but even Phillip got a kick out of it! (yes, Lou, don’t lie!!). Even the cleaning-up part was part of the fun, well, their fun at least! Carrying these big bricks outside onto the wheel barrow… what is more fulfilling than that 😉

That was really the end of it, but you can see that the wheelbarrow is full!! Such a neat job!! Well done monsters…

And nothing goes to waste 😉 with kids, and they got their creative juices going and used those bricks as canvas to draw on! I’m always proud when I see my middle K in full steam concentration, so I try to capture those moments on films…

Little Pixie, show and tell!

And even Matt felt artistic.

4 Responses to “WITH A SLEDGE HAMMER”

  1. Kerry October 22, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    It’s about bliming time! I hated that wall!

  2. inks75 October 19, 2008 at 6:43 pm #

    (Debbs)How could you pick up the editing? Phil phoned me quite intensely (again) about this little bit…So I removed it! Well spotted!
    Veggies should be growing but it takes quite a few weeks…
    (Taryn) No photos of sledge hammer work sorry… I guess I was in as much awe as my kids to be taking pics 🙂
    You’ll have to come visit to see the final result first hand!!
    Oh and can I change your last “even” in your comment with ‘only”???

  3. Taryn October 18, 2008 at 11:02 pm #

    hey – love the idea of a walkway from your lounge to your kitchen! Now where are the picks of your man doing the sledgehammer work and the new walkway??? The kids are sooo cute! Permission to draw on the walls, even when they’re broken down walls, is oh so much fun!

  4. Debbie October 16, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    I see you’ve done some editing to this post!!!
    How are the veggies doing?

What did you think?

