CRUNCHY MUSTARD

24 Oct

 I don’t like cooking. It’s one of those home-chores that I like the least. The only time that I actually enjoy doing it, is when we have guests. On those days, I like to be a bit more creative (although, I guess I should ask my guests. They might find my effort a bit plain).

So I cook out of necessity, like feeding my family. And like most families with kids under 5, toddlers just want to “help”.  I know that one day I’ll look back on those pictures with a nostalgic ‘aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah”, but some of those cooking-with-mummy sessions are stressful!

This one didn’t go too bad though. My three musqueteers were quite cooperative. The end result was not AT ALL what I expected but I prefer it this way around: a calm and enjoyable cooking time with not-so-lekker food, rather than a shouting and rebuking mummy with yummy food on the dinner table but pouting kids and a grumpy mum 😦

I’ve made this chicken with a mustard sauce before, and it was really good but I had left out the bread crumbs (because I had none!). This time around I did add them to the recipe – but I guess the idea is to add a small amount of it and not the whole packet. So the sauce was thick and not sauce-like, to which I added more lemon juice and yoghurt that didn’t help because it didn’t mix. 

So instead of lovely chicken with a smooth mustard sauce, we had some munchy yellowy sauce with a bitter taste 🙂 but the kids ‘felt’ helpful and actually ate all their plate. Go figure!

Stirring the sauce...

Stirring the sauce...

 

And pouring it onto the chicken...

And pouring it onto the chicken...

 

Also working with the flow...

Also working with the flow...

 

The end result - chicken in a (too)crunchy mustard coating.

The end result - chicken in a (too)crunchy mustard coating.

Next time, we’ll stick to pancakes

🙂

What did you think?

