When the friends ashore…

27 Jan

I had never been to Landudno beach. Well not true, I had been there once a lifetime ago and I only remembered rocks from that experience. It was the most perfect day to be at the beach weather wise when we went there on Saturday to celebrate a friend’s birthday. By ‘we’, I mean half of Cape Town πŸ™‚

You see the big herd? That is ‘us’… in fact only half of us!

DSC05210

I felt a bit sorry for the people next to us on the beach… We not only arrived as a big crowd but we arrived with kids, that make a noise, that run over people’s towels and that throw sand behind their shoulders as if to repel a superstitious curse!

The beach and the afternoon sun always makes a great combination for great pictures, especially when the subjects are unaware of the photos being taken.

A lot of bonding time:

Little Friends…

DSC05185

DSC05197

DSC05233

DSC05201

Bigger Friends…

DSC05196

DSC05204

DSC05209

DSC05244

Mother, Son…

DSC05203

DSC05252 

Father , Son…

DSC05250 

Father, Daughter…

DSC05208

Some lonely souls preferred their own company rather than the conpany of others. Who can relate to that?

DSC05181

DSC05211       

It was Doug’s birthday… Joyeux Anniversaire Dougie!

And beach or not, there is always a song and a cake, with smarties πŸ™‚

DSC05221

And some faces that say “Are you sure I’m going to have cake?”

DSC05222

Most of us stayed there until late, after 8. it was some sandy, dirty, tired and hungry kids that we brought home. Not tired enough to enjoy the drive home in the dark, looking at the city lights. Also not tired enough to jump in the shower before heading to bed!

4 Responses to “When the friends ashore…”

  1. Taryn February 2, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    πŸ™‚ – it’s quite a task hey?! if u move yr blog to wordpress.org (not .com) you will find you have much more choice πŸ™‚

  2. Taryn February 1, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    Hey you – just noticed the new look today – I’ve been reading your stuff through my rss feed reader until today when I actually went to the site itself! Cool! Although your old one was more you πŸ™‚

    • inks75 February 2, 2009 at 9:47 am #

      I also prefered the previous one but I’m looking for a three colum theme with a header that I can personalise…and it’s not easy. SO I compromise on the header to have a three colum theme…but I’m not settled on it yet!

  3. Debbie January 27, 2009 at 9:58 pm #

    Hi Ingrid
    Love the new look.
    It looks like you all had a great time, we were sad not to be able to go. one thing Grant just cannot do is the beach, it ain’t wheelchair friendly!! Especially Llandudno.
    Anyway, seems there were enough of you anyway!!
    Great pics. Don’t you just love photography? I can sit for ages snapping away and the best is when they are not aware, the pictures are so natural and spontaneous. I really would like to do a course, I think I should speak to Lisa about that:-)

What did you think?

