La salle-de-bain

20 May

Patience, I hear, is a virtue.

I have been very patient, and it is now here!Six weeks turned into six months, but our bathroom is finished! Who would have thought that we would actually have our complete bathroom before the end of the winter??? Well I certainly had lost all hope!!

On one hand I would like to recall all the things that went wrong in this building project so that one day I’ll read that post and have a chuckle, but the chuckle is not guaranteed and my memory is not that good! What I recall though is that since the beginning of November, we had workers in, and workers out, ringing the bell and parking my car in, leaving their mess everywhere and stealing my coffee individual doses (I’m sure they took my precious coffee imported from France!!!)…

…but IT WAS WORTH IT!!!!

I love my new bathroom!! I love the fact that I have a proper shower, I love my new cupboards and the fact that mould is not growing on my clothes anymore, I love that I don’t have to face the cold house to go from my bathroom to my bedroom (it is now an en-suite!), I love that my face cream, make-up and hair accessories are all in the same place and I LOVE the fact that the kids can spill water on the coproxed floor without it getting flooded or dirty!!!

From this,

DSC03688 DSC03691

to this,

IMG_1214

IMG_1219

IMG_1222

and my most-patiently-waited-for cupboards,

IMG_1209

The pictures don’t even do her (my bathroom) justice…That’s how beautiful she is 😉

5 Responses to “La salle-de-bain”

  1. Annie May 25, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

    Tout vient à point ………………..
    ouf! ça y est la salle de bain est enfin installée et les placards posés.C’est magnifique.Ca valait la peine de prendre patience.
    nous sommes très contents pour vs 2 .vous allez trouver la mienne ridicule à côté de la votre maintenant!!!

  2. Debbie May 24, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    By the way, what does “La salle-de-bain” mean?
    I’m thinking it’s “The bathroom – she is beautiful”!

  3. Debbie May 21, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

    Okay I am sooooooo jealous! I’ll admit it without shame.

    Taryn, your bathroom hasn’t got a patch on ours for being out of date – 1990’s? try 1950’s! I have hated our bathroom since before we even signed on the dotted line and it was going to be renovated “immediately” – well, 7 years later it still there!

    Ingrid, Your bathroom is STUNNING, really beautiful. And I’ll say it again – I AM JEALOUS!!!

    Don’t even get me started on cupboards, I’m sure you can guess, it starts with a ‘j’!!!

    Enjoy your bath-time bliss:-)

  4. Marraine May 21, 2009 at 2:42 pm #

    Bravo !! vous allez enfin être propres, La douche doit être à côté des porte serviettes(qui sont rouges) La baignoire est petites c’est pour les enfants ? Bisous Marraine

  5. Taryn May 20, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    I officially have bathroom envy! I want my 1990’s “soft pink” cracked tiles and peeling cupboard and curtained shower OUT! 🙂 But, as you say, patience is a virtue … and it’s a good reminder to be content with what I have too! 🙂 But back to YOUR bathroom – it’s beautiful! I love it and I love how the cupboards work so nicely.

What did you think?

