The wannabe Christmas tree

25 Dec

December is time for the Christmas tree… again. I’m not a big fan of the fake tree (although I own one of the very fake, white one!). If I lived in one of those old wooden house, and if I didn’t mind the mess, I would have a massive real one, the one that smells like the forest, also the one that loses its pine needles. But I don’t (live in one of those houses…) so if I can’t have the real deal, I’ll have the homemade deal. EVERY year in the magazines I see the dry branch, spray painted silver or white, and I drool on my magazine wondering when I’ll get my things together and do it. Well, well well, this year I did. I bought some spray paint, I cut the branch from my garden, I spray painted, I chased the kids away, I found the pot, filled it up with stones and sand and voila!!

It really doesn’t take an artist to do it, not even a wannabe artist (like me)!

After many “but why is it silver?”. and ” is this our Christmas tree?” and finally, a few “ooooooh” and “aaaaaah”, the kids were impatiently waiting to decorate it. I took out our colour coded red and silver christmas decorations, as well as the paper decorations made by the kids and soon their job was done.
IMG_4754.JPG

IMG_4760.JPG

And in the end, we were all very happy with our own personal silver christmas tree!

IMG_4763.jpg

IMG_4765.JPG

Mmmh could I have found one family tradition that I might like enough to keep it happening?…

4 Responses to “The wannabe Christmas tree”

  1. alison January 5, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    Love your christmas tree its beautiful- love it!
    How are you?

  2. Taryn December 28, 2009 at 7:46 pm #

    LOVE your tree – very arty and authentic looking 🙂 Love it :)!!! And.. NO pine needles to sweep up – beautiful!

  3. Coppa December 26, 2009 at 5:04 pm #

    Très joli et très original ton arbre ma chérie.Et décoré par ces petites mains il est magnifique!
    nous cette année nous avons pris un vrai petit sapin et bien qu’il soit sous la clim, il ne perd pas ses aiguilles.Quand arrivera le père Noël de France.?tiens-moi au courant car j’ai assuré le colis auprès du père noêl de la poste.Biz Mum

  4. Marraine December 26, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Bravo !! il est magnifique !! mais ça n’est pas un sapin !! Il en exsite en France (des faux bien sûr) qui se replis et et se déplis chaque année, et ceux ci ne perdent pas leurs aiguilles. Mais le vôtre est original !! Je vois que vous n’avez pas reçu mes cartes, c’est dommage Bizz Marrain e

What did you think?

