To marry or to marry…

5 Jul

I wonder what my children are talking about when they’re out playing.

Episode 1:

Matty comes in the house with freshly-cut flowers from the garden and says, ‘Here mama, it’s for you when you get married’. To which I replied, ‘thank you my darling, but I’m already married, to papa’

Puzzled silence.

‘Oh, then it’s for Lea, when she gets married!’, and off he went to find Lea.

Episode 2:

Same day, later, around the kitchen counter, the kids are arguing about something. ‘What is the matter?’ I ask.

Lea replies with a determined tone of voice ‘ When I’m 16, I’m getting married and I’m having a baby, voila! Killian says I can’t but I don’t care, that is what I want!’

Now I know what they’re talking about when they’re out playing. Ignorance is bliss, sometimes, for a time 🙂

What did you think?

