Personality goes a long way…

4 Sep

images.jpegWhat is the problem with christian books about motherhood? About marriage? Those books that want to educate me about becoming the true woman that I should be, the fulfilled woman God wants me to be, with a life wholeheartedly dedicated to being with my children and submitting to my husband… What is the problem with these books?

There are many problems with these books, but I don’t want to write about (all of) them.

At my daughter’s party recently, Lea’s speech and drama teacher came to organise games with the girls. She fits the prototype of the drama teacher: original, eccentric, exaggerated facial expressions… in one word, different. In my typical-prejudiced self, I immediately thought ‘new age’. She must be the kind of person that hugs trees, believes in fairies and only drinks herbal tea – Well it turns out, she drinks ginger water 🙂 But even better than ginger water, it turns out that she is a jew, that accepted Christ. Yes, a born-again Christian. She couldn’t be more different than any christian women that I know. And yet, she calls Him Lord and Saviour.

I don’t know what she would think of these books that make us all fit into one box. One size fits all! A small box where all women have to believe that Scriptures teach that domesticity is the essence of femininity (real line!) Well I dare to disagree! I’m not a feminist and I don’t have ambitions to have a career. I’m a mum at home and I love to spend time with my kids (even if, as we speak, the one is throwing a tantrum because he can’t watch a video in the middle of the day and the other is ransacking my cupboard to find the popcorn I promised we’ll have tonight!). Most days I willingly submit to my husband because he makes it easy to do it, and I call my house a home, and not just for my family. But I don’t do it because that’s my calling as a woman! I do it because love is the command, love others before yourself, love even when you don’t feel like it, love when you’re upset and love your enemies. That love will appear different from the one family to the next; it might even appear unconventional from the woman in rural South Africa to the middle-class woman in America.

So what is the problem with these books?

Personality! That’s one of the problems, books written by one kind of people to one kind of people, coming from one kind of social and economical context. It lacks personality.

How rich is the family of Christ that we are all different, from our fashion style, to our culture and into our ways of life. I don’t have to fit a profile to be a christian. All I have to do is love Christ and live a life that will bring glory to His name. As if this is not hard enough!!

2 Responses to “Personality goes a long way…”

  1. renettepickering September 6, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    So true, Ingrid!

  2. Taryn September 6, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Great post!

What did you think?

