(Best) Banana Bread

23 Sep

I’m not a great baker… although I don’t know if it’s completely true. I remember baking an apple pie that would make you confess the flatness of the earth just for a bite! What I can say with confidence is that I am not a regular baker.

But a few days ago, feeling very sad at the waste of many bananas riping away in my fruit bowl, I made a Banana Bread…No, no, no, I made a delicious Banana Bread!!

So for posterity, here is the recipe (courteously given to me by non less than Jordan!!)

2 cups flour
4 ripe bananas
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs beaten
1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp bicarb
1/2 cup baking margarine
1 tsp vanilla

Mix sugar and bananas until creamy.

Add softened butter and mix again.

Sift dry flour and baking powder and add to banana mixture.

Add beaten eggs, bicarb and vanilla.

Bake at 180 degrees for approximatively 3/4 hour.

I lined the dish with baking paper which makes it so easy to remove the bread without sticking…


No photos before, during or after. It will be an intimate celebrity 🙂

Enjoy!


2 Responses to “(Best) Banana Bread”

  1. Ingrid September 24, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    It is actually with brown sugar, don’t know if it makes a difference. The truth is that I mostly followed the recipe, but I had to use self-raising flour on the day, I didn’t have anything else and I added randomly some more bicarb… So I’m hoping I will be able to redo the miracle 🙂

  2. Taryn September 24, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Ah man!! No photos?? So disappointed! I want the evidence… First prize = melting in my mouth. Second prize = photos on yr blog! Sounds yummy and very similar to mine, minus the marg, plus the butter and don’t forget the brown sugar! 🙂 yum yum!! Glad you’ve found a winner recipe!! 🙂

What did you think?

