Pouf and ge-pouf

22 May

I inherited – for the next few months – a sowing machine! I can’t sow, not even if my life depended on it, but the sowing machine can!

… After taking the sowing machine for a very much needed service,

… After harassing the woman there to give me a crash course on “how to thread the thingy”, “how to do the bobine thingy”, “how to (fill out with the most basic question)” – I even took a mini video, almost inaudible and practically out of focus, to help me out at home when I have to do it on my own.

… And after making the emergency call to my friend Caren at 7pm on a saturday evening because I STILL could NOT do it,

I think I can confidently say that I finished my first really exciting sowing project: a pouf-cover. We have two poufs at home, that used to be white. Nowadays they’re more off-white with khokies marks, chocolate-finger marks, snot marks and any other marks associated with “children and lack of  manners”.

On Friday I went to the fabric shop with Léa and tried to make sense of the 50 different types of fabric, foam, fillings, canvas… Here we were, erring in the aisles, looking lost and despondent but finally deciding on the fabric wanted – which of course, came short of what I needed, thank you to my impulsivity and lack of thought, such as measuring the poufs 🙂

Nonetheless, after a week end of work, voilà!

The “before and after” pictures!

The fabric

The pouf

The finished pouf-cover 🙂

Next week end is for the second pouf…

7 Responses to “Pouf and ge-pouf”

  1. Taryn May 26, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Way cool! I spied yr poufs tonight and was going to ask if they were new but, well, you know me and THAT question, so I thought twice about asking! Now I’m glad to know that they’re at least half new!! And the new half absolutely rocks! Well done!!! You are a natural, it seems!!

  2. Coppa May 23, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    congratulation ma chérie! tu es la meilleure.La prochaine fois que je viens tu me donnes des leçons
    Biz biz

  3. Marraine May 23, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    ALORS CA C’EST UN SCOOP !!!!!!! BRAVO !!!!! je n’en crois ni mes yeux ni mes oreilles (enfin….). Il ne reste plus qu’à prendre des cours de coupe et couture et tu feras de jolies petites robes à Léana. Encore une fois BRAVO !!! Bizz de ta marraine.

  4. kerry May 23, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    WOW! I’m really really impressed! Well done. May the sewing continue. And yes it is flipping complicated!!!

  5. nicoledecooker May 22, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    It looks lovely Inks! Keep creating and discovering 🙂

  6. Renette Pickering May 22, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Wow, Ingrid, that’s impressive!! You did an excellent job and it looks great. Nice fabric too.

  7. thekooymans May 22, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Well done Inks! This is great! You are a natural 😀 xx

What did you think?

