Outrageously yours…

9 Aug

I feel sad, outraged and upset.

My friend Jordan shared something on his blog about the sexualisation of girls, young girls. Younger and younger girls. The magazine Vogue published  little girls, in grown-up clothes, stilettos, posing with seductive looks. The one in particular – who created the most uproar on the public scene –  posing with such assurance and attitude, is said to be the strange obsession for many in the world of fashion, and wider.

Thylane  is 10.

As I browsed the internet for more information, I felt sick to my stomach. Looking at this 10 year old girl, who is absolutely beautiful – stunning eyes, pouted mouth, thick long hair, perfect skin, androgynous  body (being 10) – I was overwhelmed by sadness. Somehow her parents thought it would be the best course of action for their child. Is it possible to ignore the fact that growing up with the world’s attention on “how you look” is not healthy psychologically and leads to so many issues?

What’s worse, as I look at this girl, I catch myself finding her attractive, like one would find a young woman attractive. The boundaries have been so blurred that more and more we look upon little girls made out to look like 17 year old girls. As a mother, I would be terrified to think that men look at my daughter as a woman  child to have.

Sure the fashion industry is to blame, the people buying the lie that the fashion industry sells, are to blame; but in the case of a 10 year old child, the parents are to blame. The very people that have been put in charge to love her, cherish her, protect her and do what is best for her are the very ones throwing her in the lion’s mouth.

I closed my internet search. I felt deeply disturbed and concerned for the Thylanes of this world. I also felt a deep sense of relief. Relief that as the Lord grabbed hold of our life, we do not belong to this world, we belong to Him. We do not conform to the pattern of this world but we are transformed by the renewing of our mind.

When my daughter reaches puberty, feels fat and ugly , breaks out in acne and might need glasses, when she feels like the ugliest duck, she will be reminded that the Lord loves her, always did and always will and that He does not look at her appearance but that He looks at her heart. A heart that should acknowledge Jesus for who He is. A heart that should love and obey Jesus. A heart that should know that happiness cannot come from wealth, good looks, success, achievement or great personality but that only Jesus can provide contentment for the whole of life.

And this hope is there for everyone.  No casting agency. No VIPs.

5 Responses to “Outrageously yours…”

  1. Debby Garratt August 10, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Brilliantly written and very important to say, lots of good insights – and so, SO sad. Thank you.

    • Ingrid August 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

      It made me terribly sad for this little girl, who is envied by tons of other little girls. And yet, it is a disguised curse. Very sad

  2. Cindy August 9, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Thank you for this post! After the whole Marie Claire thing, they all said we should maybe put the girls into an agency because they are so “beautiful”. When I randomly checked out some agency sites I was appalled at what I saw. It is totally disgusting how people have ruined the innocence of children! Makes you realise how the world slowly seeps into ones thinking, slowly making it acceptable. I’m so thankful that Jesus loves us no matter what!

    • Ingrid August 12, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      When Lea was small, I went to one audition, after being encouraged to. I went there, found myself waiting with a few other people. The audition had been canceled but we hadn’t been told. First and last time! It would have been fun, I’m sure, and I would have liked to see my precious baby’s photo on the packets of nappies, or bum cream but with hindsight, it’s just as well 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This I Promise You… « 3 2 1 - August 20, 2011

    […] that talk about terminating a twin because the parent/s didn’t want two, stories of a 10 year old dressed up to make people want her, besides all the other disturbing happenings in our fallen world – too many to even […]

What did you think?

