Teaching opportunities – when to grab them, when not to…

12 Aug

Let's talk about circumcision!

 

 

It is 5 o’clock. Shower time for the kids.

The conversation goes like this.

 

 

Killian: Why does Jesse’s penis stay open like that (demonstration) and mine doesn’t?

Ahaaaaah. Teaching moment. I see circumcision explained. Sign of the old covenant. Sign of the new covenant. Baptism. Promises of the Lord. I see a great moment where we all gather on my bed and the kids listen to my words, nodding in agreement and wonder.

Instead, I get crazy Killian time (a bit like Pumpkin Patch time), laughing his head off and shouting “aaahaaahh, so Jesse is an Israelite!”. Matt is trying to have his penis to stay like that of an Israelite while jumping on my bed and Léa is catching Killian’s jokes, building on them. I catch myself keeping on explaining why we baptise today when I suddenly realize “why am I shouting as I’m talking about the wonderful promises of Jesus!!!!!”. So I kept quiet.

This is what I learnt from this experience.

Tip #1 – Don’t try to have a serious conversation with naked children at 5 o’clock.

Tip #2 – If you’re going to talk about penises, theirs should be covered.

Tip #3 – If you have to shout to cover the background noise, their attention level is not what it should be.

Take it or leave it! Happy teaching!

 

2 Responses to “Teaching opportunities – when to grab them, when not to…”

  1. Zita Consani August 13, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Ha ha. This is outrageously funny! Props to you, dear i, for your courage to expose the ‘p’ word to the world on your christian blog!
    as for me, give me a circumcised ‘p’ anyday! xxx

  2. craigandkerry August 12, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    WAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!! I’m hitting the table laughing so hard and Craig is going,” What? WHAT??? WHAT???????” What’s so funny?” Oh goodness that is so flipping halarious! Boys and their penises… What can I say :)! Can’t wait to listen in on their conversation when they see each other.

What did you think?

