What? No school this year?

6 Mar

Nope. This year we decided to homeschool. 

When we finally took the decision in the middle of last year, I yielded my husband’s good advice and did not advertise it. My heart wanted to share it with everyone I bumped into, but my head told me not to. I am aware that it can be a divisive topic and I certainly did not want to be that. So hush hush I kept it, until it was time to reveal our intentions. First to my mum (what do you mean ‘school at home??’ ), then to my husband’s mum (‘Homeschooling? I’m not so sure…’ ), then to my close friends (yes, they are still close friends) and lastly to strangers who asked (‘All THREE of your children?’).

Nonetheless, half a year after taking that decision and almost a term into the reality of it, I think it’s appropriate that it becomes official, i.e. Facebook status and blog!! One day, when I’m old and senile and my children want to know when and why and how and who and any other ‘wh’ questions regarding their homeschooling time, I will be able to say ‘Well my poppet, I … I… can’t remember. Just read our blog…’

So when? … It started when she was in Grade 3, he was in Grade 2 and he was in grade R. It’s easy enough because they are still so little that I don’t lose my sleep over their next maths lesson. And ‘when’, just to reassure my mum who might be freaking out, it’s e-ve-ry-day mum!! Counting, writing, reading, spelling, grammaring…Except some fridays but with good excuses to learn about something wider that the walls of our house, some Mondays because Killian goes to a technology club. Every now and then on a Tuesday because we run errands; and occasionally we skip Thursday because we don’t feel like working. Otherwise, EVERY other day!! (Just kidding mamaaaaannn!!!)

Why? … Because I had enough of saying ‘quickly’ and ‘vite vite’ to them, morning to evening, monday to friday. I wanted to switch to ‘just relax’ (of course it’s not all of the ‘whys’ but it certainly was a part weighing on my heart).

Who?… Of course my 3 children. Someone asked me if I had other kids as well, so I said ‘No, I didn’t start a school, I started homeschool’. That aside, the ‘who’ includes much more than me and my kids. I love outsourcing help, they make their life richer and mine easier, starting with art, music, wood work…

How?… With a complete curriculum that does all the work for me so that during the day I teach my kids, and in the evening, I can spend time with my husband ( and our housemate at the moment, wink wink…)

And voila! This is the summarized neat version of what is happening inside our walls this year. Emphasize on “neat” of course because the reality is always so much more murky 😉 Sometimes the ‘when’ is far too often, I wonder ‘why’, I can’t stand the ‘who’ and I’ve forgotten “how’.

But to finish on a positive note, I really enjoy homeschooling my kids and they seem to enjoy it too. And if only for these reasons, I am glad.

6 Responses to “What? No school this year?”

  1. Cleone March 17, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    I’m so glad things are going well. I can see they are enjoying it. You know I had many concerns . Will, as facilitater come to observe: no date issued. So beware! Ha ha xxxxx

  2. themastersbard March 7, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    Bravo to the lovely French lady who cares about the real values in life – as her nesty blog so beautifully expresses.

    I have never regretted home-schooling my three children for their early years. The mother-bonding and sense of security they developed is INVALUABLE. And of course, home-schooling allows the opportunity for a more holistic education – if you’re amped, organized & prayed up!

    You go, mon ami!

  3. craigandkerry March 7, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Glad it’s going well and that you’re still happy 🙂 I’m sure they’re enjoying all the cool things they get “outsourced” to do.:)

    Love kerry

  4. Ann Colling March 6, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    What an enormous and I’m sure rewarding task. All the best to the four of you. I still think your extraordinarily brave. I’ve alwyas had the greatest respect for teacher. Am sure it’s not for the faint hearted. But then teaching your own little ones must be just the best!

  5. Taryn March 6, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    It’s out there now! 🙂 glad term 1 is going so well. Yay!!

  6. Laure March 6, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    And the “housemate” can testify that she rocks at homeschooling! 🙂 Well done!

What did you think?

