Letter from a mother…

14 May

This past Sunday was Mother’s Day.

Following my post on  (un)traditions, a friend of mine greeted me and jokingly asked if I was going to celebrate Mother’s Day in my untraditional way. Absolutely, I winked. The way we celebrate Mother’s Day is exactly the same way that we celebrate Valentine’s Day or Father’s Day. No plans, outing, gifts or gathering.

And yet, I confess that  I have the desire to feel special on that day. If  my children do not tell me how much they love me and how grateful they are that I am their mum, I feel cheated. I do. I shamefully admit that I once again feel the pressure to conform – burdening  my husband to make sure the kids have done their picture in love.

Looking at the history of where Mother’s Day come from (ahem… its main influence comes from America – Queen of traditions) and particularly how it developed in France, good old Wiki writes that while it started in the early 1900s as a national celebration honoring the mothers of large families (at the time France was alarmed by the low birthrate), in the 50s “the celebration lost all its patriotic and natalist ideologies, and became heavily commercialized”. How sad…

I absolutely resent the fact that my family is compelled to demonstrate their affection for me on the third Sunday of May – worse, that I get caught in it, as if it mattered in any way.

Bring the christian element in the celebration and it becomes catastrophic. The usher at church who wishes a Happy Mother’s day to the shocked 16 year old girl or my childless friend who wishes me a Happy Mother’s Day leaving me to blabber some incomprehensible response…

I’m linking a post that I read from a different blog. Simply, humbly and beautifully written (thank you, Amy Young).

How do we honor mothers without hurting the women who can not fit?

Maybe privately…

 

4 Responses to “Letter from a mother…”

  1. craigandkerry May 16, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    The poem was great. We need to be sensitive to others who are hurting. Happy Mother’s day! May the work God is doing through you in the lives of your own children and your spiritual children echo through eternity. And may He get the glory! Much love

  2. craigandkerry May 16, 2012 at 4:29 am #

    That poem was great. It’s so important to be sensitive to others. Happy Mother’s day my friend. May God’s work through you in the lives of your children and also in the lives of your spiritual children echo through eternity. And May God get the glory 🙂

  3. petalcaren May 15, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Mothers Day can be painful for many woman on different levels. I find myself looking forward to it and then hating it when it arrives especially when my expectations are not met. ( and I did have a nice day). It would be great if we all just knew in that deep place that we were appreciated and cared for and loved as people, as women and as mothers and as anything else we might be. Being a mom is difficult at times and jolly hard work . I went to a talk on friendship this weekend and it was noted that children only really see what their moms did for them in their 20’s. That might be a good or a bad thing but God sees even when and if no one else does. It is tough not to get human recognition for our efforts but we must be reminded that God knows and he sees. Perhaps we need to acknowledge that life is tough and full of pain in many different areas including motherhood or lack there of. Being sensitive and kind really does count when life is sore.

  4. Taryn May 15, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    Loved the poem on your linked site. I think it brought to light a great truth that mothering is not exclusive to those with children in their homes. Perhaps those little gifts at church should be handed to every woman on Mother’s Day to recognise each of their roles in the bringing up of children. Or perhaps it should be scrapped altogether? One way or another I hope you had a lovely day enjoying your family!

What did you think?

