Some lobe transformation…

4 Jul

Because we were in France over Matty’s birthday – he got spoilt!!! – my mum wanted to spoil the other two as well, in advance of their birthday. So I thought and thought and thought and couldn’t find an interesting present for Léa. (I mean, does she really need another Barbie??). Until I got a lightbulb moment and had the best idea of a gift for Léa. She had been begging us ‘wheeeeeeennnn can I have my ears piiiiierced??!!’ so it was absolutely too special to do that with her and to do it in France where it will be a memory to cherish for ever!! It was extremely special for my mum as well to orchestrate and be there for that special occasion.

I do realize that it’s only a pair of ears being pierced (as I sound a bit over enthusiastic over the whole event). I really didn’t expect to feel so sentimental about it but it absolutely felt like a rite of passage for my little girl!! And I’m glad that I have footage of it 🙂

I do need to add that Léa was far braver than me at the same age. The lady that pierced my ear (no ‘s’!!) when I was about 8 couldn’t – wouldn’t – pierce my second one as I was screaming too much!! I’m so glad that at 36, I managed to have a second hole in both my ears!!!

Two minutes and forty-three seconds of smile on my face!!

3 Responses to “Some lobe transformation…”

  1. craigandkerry July 8, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Very special memory. And Lea is so brave! Love the photo of the two of you together at the end of your clip. But how can she be so BIG???

  2. nicoledecooker July 5, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Special memories indeed! You looked more scared than Lea! 😛

  3. chadelaud anne marie July 5, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Petite chérie, j’étais avec ta maman pour le perçage d’oreilles !!! ouï ouï ouï !!! Tu criais tellement, et que tu remuais tellement aussi , que tu m’as échappé et la dame n’a pas pu te percer l’autre oreille. Léana est donc plus courageuse que toi! hou hou ! J’attends toujours des photos avec les cousins. J’ai écris à Ta Maman, elle ne m’a pas répondu . Qu’ai je fais pour mériter pareille pun ition ?? ( je Plaisante bien sûr) Mille gros bisous

    Ta petite Marraine

What did you think?

