Excuse my French!

14 Jan

How bad is it to change a blog’s name?  The readers are used to a name and the new one won’t stick? The blog will be abandoned in its own blogosphere, never to be found again?  Well, in spite of this gloomy picture, here are the reasons that made me consider the change:

 

 

Firstly, who can remember ‘Our Nest Au Naturel’? It’s hard enough to pronounce it properly, let alone remember it!

Secondly, I’ve grown to really dislike (I’m trying to say ‘hate’ a lot less) the idea of the ‘nest’. Yes, I’m running the home, feeding and caring for the children like a bird its birdlets, protecting and fighting for their life (South Africa can be dangerous after all). But I hate (Aaargh) oppose the ‘close-door’ policy that it seems to imply. My family is precious, of course, but the family that I gained in Christ is at times equally important. ‘Nest’ seems so limiting and narrow-minded!

Thirdly, I’ve grown weary  (and also quite disgusted) at the kind of searches that I find on my blog. While ‘au naturel” might own a certain je-ne-sais-quoi under the tongue of non-french ears, it also has an correlation with ideas that I’d rather not have on this family-friendly blog! I mean, ‘Au Naturel’? Really? Are we running around naked in this house? I don’t think so…

Fourthly, … I don’t really have a fourthly but I thought that a thirdly was just not enough. Voilà quoi!

Soooooooo, after many many many months of thinking, hesitating, pondering and procrastinating, I’ve finally decided.

The name will change. The URL won’t and so, I hope that you would please

Excuse my French…

12 Responses to “Excuse my French!”

  1. Lynette January 18, 2013 at 1:59 am #

    Ah ah, je n’arrive pas à m’enlever de l’esprit l’image de toute la famille en train de courir naked dans la maison!! :-))

    • Ingrid January 18, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      Un peu dérangeant non???…. Merci de me rendre visite, ici, dans mon humble blog 🙂

  2. Lizanne Pitt January 16, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    love it 🙂 very catchy, and apt.

  3. craigandkerry January 16, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    All I can say is, ” You can’t trust the French!” 😉 I’m glad you found a new name after all this deep thinking!

    • Ingrid January 16, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

      Indeed!! Craig always tells me that. It’s a well known fact that you can’t trust the french…

  4. Cindy January 15, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    I love it! Good choice for sure!

  5. themastersbard January 15, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Inks, it’s fantastic. I LOVE it. It’s trendy without being pretentious, engaging, arty fun with just a touch of chutzpah. But caption needs work i.e. ‘French or not,…”

    PS You don’t respond to my comments. Makes me sad because I’m a die-hard supporter!

    • Ingrid January 15, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

      I think I do reply. No? Well if I don’t, it’s just rude of me! I love your comments and feedback. Yep you’re right, the tag line needs work….and the photo in the header too, sigh…

  6. Debbie H January 15, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    I like it.

  7. Nicole(Whole Strides) January 14, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

    I think it’s a fair choice. I like the new name. I liked the old one, too. But as long as your URL isn’t changing, I don’t see any problem with it. I do kind of hate when people change their URLs, though I understand why.

    • Ingrid January 15, 2013 at 8:28 am #

      Hi Nicole! Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad you like the name 🙂 I almost changed the URL and stopped at the last minute. I might change at a later stage when the new name has sinked in. Have a good day!

What did you think?

