Snowstorm. Almost

18 Jan

It snowed. In Fréjus – Provence – South of France – Europe. I’m geographising (there should be such a word!) for the people out there labelling the world into 2 categories: America and non-America.

It’s a big deal, snow in Fréjus. It does not snow there. E-VER. In the 20 odd years that I lived there, I saw snow twice.

The first time, I was in Grade 1 and my teacher gave the hyper excited 6 year old pupils a generous 5 minute run in the courtyard. Anything unusual is deemed dangerous in France (no wearing of shoes being one of them, can you imagine running through the snow WITHOUT gloves??). My partner-in-crime and I tried to sneak an extra minute (wild things that we were) and got into trouble. But it was totally worth it. Those were the best 6 minutes of my Grade 1 year.

The second time is a bit more blurry in my memory. You know, been there, done that, kind of attitude. I vaguely remember a sorry-looking snowman, wet clothes through and through and loads of picture of the family dog.

Now I’m so bummed that I missed the third snowfall of the century. Being in Cape Town, what’s that all about??

You can tell when a town is not ready for the wild tempest of the decade when it makes the national headlines with a very professional (NOT) video of a Fréjusien. In a very shaky footage, we hear her I’m-in-shock voice describing this – I quote – ‘crazy thing’ that was happening. She measured the height of the snowfall against her own – and again I quote –  ‘hand that is not too big but not too small’: approximately 10cms.

No joke!! 10cms??? 10cms!!!! Wait, World!!! 10cms of SNOW. Enough to make a snowman mud bath!!

There was panic!! Schools were closed:

People were  scared:

Warnings were issued “Drive With Extreme Caution After The Important Snowfalls”:

It was a tough Friday for every citizen in Frejus. For everyone else, it was:

**Before you ask –  I can sense your worry – my family made it out ok. Thanks for asking.

4 Responses to “Snowstorm. Almost”

  1. craigandkerry January 20, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    Your video clips are really funny 🙂 Wish we could have seen the french panic!

    • Ingrid January 21, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

      pffff, they’re gifs, not video clips. Video clips are so yesterday!! 🙂

  2. Nicole January 19, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    It sounds a lot like Georgia. People here have often never seen snow. And they have no idea what to do. It’s absolutely hilarious.

    • Ingrid January 19, 2013 at 9:03 am #

      Aaaah, Georgians and Frejusiens, kindred spirits then 😉 Thanks for stopping by Nicole 🙂

What did you think?

