The door in the wall

4 Oct

The-door-in-the-wall

 “If thou followeth a wall far enough, there must be a door in it.”

A door in the wall.

Doors can be mystical, revealing a secret or keeping it safe. We have a new door, a door in our wall. I’m not talking about the book but of a literal door.

Recognise the door of the mathematician by the equation, of the French by the, hum, french writing,  and of the children by the half-erased markings.

Recognise the door of the mathematician by the equation, of the French by the, hum, french writing, and of the children by the half-erased markings.

Seven years of living in our house and we followed the wall far enough to put in a door leading from our bedroom to our bathroom. The irony is when we moved in, there was a door. Maybe the lock on the outside (!!!) felt so oppressing that we removed lock and door together.

It is nice to close it when I want privacy, even though it doesn’t stop my children in their footsteps. It is also another artefact on which my OCD husband can (hyper)focus on. “Did you close the door?”, “Why didn’t you close the door?” are his famous last words in the evening – but I love him so.

Our door is back, the true door of an applied-science-of-mathematical-statistician (Is that right honey?), a french chick and a few half-bred children!

5 Responses to “The door in the wall”

  1. Lizanne Pitt October 5, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    Love the door! And you’re hilarious! I thought kids out grow the need to follow mom to the bathroom… here you’ve burst my bubble.

    • Ingrid October 6, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

      They indeed follow me there. We’re pretty free around this so I think they don’t realise it. Fortunately, they have reach the age where I can point it out and ask for privacy and they will leave. Pfew!!!

  2. craigandkerry October 5, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    I read a little plaque the other day (the sort of plaque with 1950′ pictures you hang up in your home) which said, ” Mom, when you want to go to the toilet, just let us know so we can come talk to you.”

    All I can say is… I hope you finally get some peace with your new impressive Mathematically precise, French door. 🙂

    • Ingrid October 6, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      That’s hilarious!! I wouldn’t want to reinforce the idea though 😉

  3. Phillip October 4, 2013 at 9:46 am #

    You actually never hear my last words of the evening because you fall asleep the moment your head hits the pillow! 🙂

What did you think?